Skip to main content

2006 Bridge of Peace Nonviolence Award


Marshall Rosenberg received the Nonviolence Award at The Bridge of Peace Awards, sponsored by the Global Village Foundation.

Other recipients in 2006 were:

  • Thich Nhat Hanh (Bridge of Peace Award)
  • Marla Ruzicka (Global Peace and Justice Award)
  • Ambassador Pete Peterson (Humanitarian Service Award)
  • Dr. Waqar Al-Kubaisy (Courage Award).

Global Village Foundation (GVF) is a non-profit, tax-deductible 501 (c) (3) charitable organization founded in 1999 by author and humanitarian Le Ly Hayslip, focusing on humanitarian aid work in Vietnam and the promotion of nonviolence and peace.

Their mission is to provide educational and healthcare opportunities to children and rural villagers of Asia and Vietnam through funding, construction and staffing of kindergartens, primary schools, village markets, portable children's libraries, and cultural and vocational training centers, helping break the generational cycles of poverty and illiteracy, while still preserving the unique heritage of Asian village life.

On hand for the festivities were Academy Award winning film director Oliver Stone, West Wing’s Martin Sheen, along with GVF founder Le Ly Hayslip, and former Bridge of Peace Award recipients Ron Kovic, June Pulcini, Lowell Blankfort, PeaceBoat of Japan representatives and others.

Share this news: